September 20th 1980 Ozzy Osbourne released the album ‘Blizzard of Ozz’

September 20th 1980 Ozzy Osbourne released the album ‘Blizzard of Ozz’

On This Day in Metal, September 20th 1980 Ozzy Osbourne released his debut solo album 'Blizzard of Ozz'.

The album was Osbourne's first release following his firing from Black Sabbath in 1979. Blizzard of Ozz is the first of two studio albums Osbourne recorded with guitarist Randy Rhoads prior to Rhoads' death in 1982. In 2017, it was ranked 9th on Rolling Stone's list of "100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time".

The album tracks "Crazy Train" and "Mr. Crowley" were released as singles in 1980. "Crazy Train" made number 49 on the UK Singles Chart and was moderately successful in the United States, reaching number 9 on the Billboard Top Tracks chart and the single peaked at number 6 on the Billboard Bubbling Under the Hot 100 Billboard chart in 1981.


Side one
1."I Don't Know" 5:16
2."Crazy Train" 4:52
3."Goodbye to Romance" 5:36
5."Suicide Solution" 4:20
Side two
1."Mr. Crowley" 4:57
2."No Bone Movies"Osbourne, Rhoads, Daisley, Lee Kerslake3:58
3."Revelation (Mother Earth)" 6:09
4."Steal Away (The Night)" 

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.