CONCERT REVIEW: Mr. Bungle in Toronto

CONCERT REVIEW: Mr. Bungle in Toronto

So what's with Toronto and rock stars? Alice Cooper in 1980 with his infamous riot, Rob Halford of Judas Priest knocking himself out falling off his Harley in 1991 and in 1992 with Mike Patton when an audience member yanked Patton into the crowd and he retaliated by loudly hitting a concertgoer on the head with his mic.

In video of the show, the Mr. Bungle frontman then appears to regret the action and comes to the front of the stage to console said fan, patting him on the head and bringing him a towel — all while stilling singing, of course. The show must go on, after all.

Hell, the concert is being played at History in Toronto so I figured I would give you a little music history.

The night started off with the math-rock duo 'Battles' featuring drummer John Stanier, of Helmet and Tomahawk fame. They were interesting and unique that's for sure.

Now it was time for Mr. Bungle to play. The band consists of Mike Patton (Faith No More) on lead vocals, Trey Spruance on lead guitar, Trevor Dunn on bass, Scott Ian (Anthrax) on rhythm guitar and Dave Lombardo (Slayer) on drums.

I was anxious to see what cover song or cover songs they would play tonight as the last few shows they have been mixing it up with covers of Sepultura's 'Terrority', Slayer's 'Hell Awaits', Corrosion of Conformity's 'Loss For Words' and Van Halen's 'Loss Of Control'. Most of the songs came off their 2020 album 'The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo' with the others being mostly cover songs.

The show was amazing, I loved how the band would go all out thrash on a few songs and then all of a sudden slow it down and play 'Summer Breeze'. The band seem to like joking around which made the show funny and interesting.

With Scott Ian and Dave Lombardo being in the band, this was probably a totally different band than the one you would've seen twenty years ago. Overall, it was a great show.

Mr. Bungle Setlist

01 - Grizzly Adams
02 - Sudden Death
03 - Hypocrites/Habla español o muere
04 - Bungle Grind    
05 - I'm Not In Love (10cc Cover)
06 - Eracist
07 - Glutton For Punishment      
08 - Malfunction (Cro-Mags cover)
09 - Anarchy Up Your Anus
10 - Methematics
11 - Hell Awaits (Slayer cover)
12 - Summer Breeze (Seals & Crofts cover)
13 - You Lose (7Seconds cover)
14 - True (Spandau Valley cover)
15 - Spreading the Thighs of Death  
16 - World Up My Ass (Circle Jerks cover)
17 - Raping Your Mind
18 - Satan Never Sleeps (Timi Yuro cover)
19 - Territory (Sepultura cover)

I give this show 8/10
Metalhead Marv

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.