Concert Review: Rob Zombie with Alice Cooper in Toronto

Concert Review: Rob Zombie with Alice Cooper in Toronto

September 6th 2023 Budweiser Stage, Toronto, Ontario

To be honest, I'm here to see Alice Cooper but throw in Rob Zombie as the headliner and trust me, I'm not complaining!

Openers Filter were good. I didn't know much about the band but I will give them more of a listen now that I've seen them live.

Next up were industrial metal band Ministry.  The band was amazing and I really enjoyed them covering the Black Sabbath song 'Supernaut'. Although I was here for Alice, I will now give this band some listening as they sounded great.

Ministry Set List

01 - Thieves
02 - The Missing  
03 - Deity
04 - Stigmata    
05 - Supernaut (Black Sabbath cover)
06 - Burning Inside      
07 - N.W.O        
08 - Just One Fix    
07 - Goddamn White Trash

Next up was Alice Cooper who just released his album 'Road'. School may have just started again but with Alice Cooper, it's "school's out forever!" Teacher Alice never dissapoints and seeing him is a lesson in music.

Starting off with 'Lock Me Up' and 'No More Mr. Nice Guy,' he got us old farts (yes, I'm guessing the majority of us there are in our 50s and 60s) out of are seats clapping and cheering. C'mon people its Alice fucking Cooper!!

He played 'I'm Eighteen' next and had me singing it. Followed next by 'Under My Wheels' and 'Billion Dollar Babies;' the classics just kept coming. 'Hey Stoopid' and 'Snakebite' were awesome. 'Feed My Frankenstein' and 'Poison' came next and yes, he did bring the snake out on stage!

At this time, Nita Strauss nailed an amazing guitar solo. Alice finished the night off with 'Elected' and 'School's Out.' Although I was a little surprised nothing from the new album was played, it's not really surprising considering his catalogue of music.

Who knows maybe he'll come back to Toronto soon as a headliner and play some of them. At 75 years of age, Alice still puts on one hell of a rock show!

Alice Cooper Set List

01 - Lock Me Up
02 - No More Mr. Nice Guy  
03 - I'm Eighteen
04 - Under My Wheels    
05 - Billion Dollar Babies
06 - Hey Stoopid      
07 - Lost In America        
08 - Snakebite    
09 - Feed My Frankenstein
10 - Poison
11 - "The Black Widow" (segment from Alice Cooper: The Nightmare)
12 - Nita Strauss Guitar Solo  
13 - Black Widow Jam
14 - Ballad of Dwight Fry      
15 - Killer (partial; band only)      
16 - I Love The Dead (partial; band only)
17 - Elected
18 - School's Out

Finally it was Rob Zombie. As the curtain dropped and the 15,000 plus fans rose from their seats, it was pure zombie madness. Like I said, I was here for Alice but don't get me wrong, Rob puts on one hell of a show. To be honest, I only knew the last four songs of his set but heck that's the fun of being a rock and metal fan. I loved the songs he was singing even though I didn't know the lyrics and I loved the vibe that he was giving off. Now that being said I now need to go listen to some of his other songs.

Rob Zombie Set List

01 - The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Supersition)
02 - Dead City Radio and The New Gods of Supertown
03 - Feel So Numb
04 - Well, Everybody's Fucking in a U.F.O  
05 - What Lurks on Channel X?
06 - Superbeast      
07 - Demonoid Phenomenon    
08 - The Lords of Salem    
09 - House of 1000 Corpses
10 - Drum Solo
11 - Living Dead Girl
12 - More Human Than Human (White Zombie)
13 - Thunder Kiss '65 (White Zombie)
14 - Dragula


Over time these concerts become distant memories, but I hope this one I'll remember forever.

I give the concert 9/10

Metalhead Marv

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.