Symphonic Metal Masters THERION Release Final Album of the Leviathan Trilogy, 'Leviathan III', Today via Napalm Records

Symphonic Metal Masters THERION Release Final Album of the Leviathan Trilogy, 'Leviathan III', Today via Napalm Records

The newest opus from Swedish symphonic metal legends THERION has been released today via Napalm Records! With 'Leviathan III', mastermind Christofer Johnsson finalizes the Leviathan trilogy, continuing the band’s 30 year-plus string of success after its predecessor Leviathan peaked at #11 on the German Album Charts.

Along with their new studio album, THERIONdelivers another astonishing single. “Nummo” is a speedy track delivering splendid hard guitar explosions and the finest classic vocals and choirs. Check out the track and its accompanying lyric video below!


Christofer Johnsson on “Nummo”:

"’Nummo’ is a song about the amphibious fish-like entities in the Dogon religion. We already touched the Dogon religion with the Sirius B title track in 2004, but as it wasn't much lyrics in that song, it felt the time was right for a revisit and a proper lyric.
In the video clip we try to give an introduction to Dogon ceremonies. We couldn’t afford to pay Nummo in person to appear in the video clip, so we had to make an animation for that.

Check out the Lyric Video for “Nummo” HERE:

A perfect collision of Metal and Classical Music!

The album sets off with the powerful “Ninkigal”, catapulting the listener directly into the dramatic universe of THERION with skillfully crafted compositions and operatic female vocals by Lori Lewis, alternating with grim growling and pleasing melodies. This then bursts into a heavy track with gloomy parts, building up to a fascinating score-like symphony. THERION once more draw charm from the courage to mix styles ranging from gothic parts to melodic death metal and neo-classical elements to power metal in a complex and versatile way, thus challenging their listeners as witnessed on “Twilight of the Gods”. The songs are quickly engaging and skillfully employ catchy melodies, as witnessed on uplifting tracks like “An Unsung Lament” and “Baccanale”. Advancing melodies are combined with rock elements, captivating lyrics and choir parts, while lively “Maleficium” is structured around a duet between Thomas Vikström and Lori Lewis. Stomping “Ayahuasca” is a true musical journey featuring a male choir and psychedelic elements, while speedy “Nummo” offers splendid hard guitar explosions and the finest classic vocals and choirs.

Overall, the compositions lean towards the magnificent and theatrical, offering a high variety of musical styles while deftly blurring the boundaries of metal and classical music. With their newest opus, 'Leviathan III', mastermind Christofer Johnssonproves his incredible talent once more, and that THERION have perfected their very own combination of versatile styles - resulting in the creation of a symphonic league of their own.

'Leviathan III' Track List:

1. Ninkigal

2. Ruler Of Tamag

3. An Unsung Lament

4. Maleficium

5. Ayahuasca

6. Baccanale

7. Midsommarblot

8. What Was Lost Shall Be Lost No More

9. Duende

10. Nummo

11. Twilight Of The Gods

'Leviathan III' will be available in the following formats:

=> 6-Page Digipak CD

=> 2LP Gatefold in Black

=> 2LP Gatefold Silver – ltd. to 500 copies worldwide

=> Die Hard Deluxe Edition Gold / Black Marbled (incl. Album Cover Slipmat, Covert Artprint & Alternative Album Cover Artprint) – ltd. to 300 copies worldwide

=> Digipak Bundle (incl. Pendant, Cotton Bag, Patch) – ltd. to 200 copies worldwide

=> Digipak & Shirt Bundle

=> Digital Album

Die Hard Deluxe Edition Gold / Black Marbled Vinyl + Album Cover Slipmat,

Cover Artprint & Alternative Album Cover Artprint – ltd. to 300copies worldwide

Catch THERION Live on Tour!

Orchestral Show

20.01.24 MX – Mexico City / Arena CDMX

Turkish Tour 2024

27.01.24 TR – Istanbul / Zorlu PSM Turkcell Sahnesi

28.01.24 TR – Eskisehir / Milyon Performance Hall

29.01.24 TR – Ankara / Milyon Perfomance Hall

30.01.24 TR – Izmir / SoldOut Performance Hall

Leviathan Tour 2024

16.02.24 PL – Lublin / Studio

17.02.24 PL – Krakow / Kwadrat

18.02.24 PL – Poznan / Tama

20.02.24 DE – Berlin / ORWO haus

21.02.24 NL – Tilburg / 013

22.02.24 BE – Brugge / Het Entrepot

23.03.24 NL – Enschede / Metropool

24.02.24 DE – Oberhausen / Resonanzwerk

25.02.24 FR – Paris / La Mashine Du Moulin Rouge

28.02.24 ES – Barcelona / Salamandra

29.02.24 ES – Pamplona / Totem

01.03.24 PT – Porto / Hard Club

02.03.24 PT – Lisbon / Lisboa Ao Vivo

03.03.24 ES – Madrid / Mon

06.03.24 CH – Luzern / Schuur

07.03.24 DE – München / Backstage

08.03.24 IT – Milan / Slaughter Club

09.03.24 IT – San Dona Di Piave / Revolver

10.03.24 CR – Zagreb / Tvornica Kulture

12.03.24 HU – Budapest / Barba Negra

13.03.24 CZ – Ostrava / Barrak

14.03.24 SK – Bratislava / Majestic

15.03.24 CZ – Prague / Meetfactory

16.03.24 PL – Warsaw / Progresja

17.03.24 PL – Wroclaw / A2


Christofer Johnsson – guitars and keyboards

Sami Karppinen - drums

Nalle “Grizzly” Påhlsson - bass

Thomas Vikström – lead vocals

Christian Vidal – guitar

Lori Lewis – vocals

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.