Underground U.S. power metal legends OVERLORDE return with "Awaken The Fury"!

Underground U.S. power metal legends OVERLORDE return with "Awaken The Fury"!

The album will be released on December 22, 2023; Premiere of the song "Fire in the Sky".

Pre-order starts: Wednesday, November 29, 2023.

Available formats:
- CD
- 180gr black vinyl with a 4-page insert.
- 180gr silver marbled vinyl, LIMITED 100, with a 4-page insert.

"Across the Sea amidst the Horizon, Overlorde forever binds us!"

Those lyrics first exploded from Overlorde's eponymous song on the band's debut EP in 1987. The lyrics remerged on their 2004 album "Return of the Snow Giant", which in 2015 was named one of the "Top 100 U.S. Metal albums of all time" by Germany's Deaf Forever magazine. And now Overlorde itself emerges yet again. "Awaken the Fury" is Overlorde's third release and will be issued on CD and vinyl by No Remorse Records on December 22, 2023. Overlorde founding members Mark "M.E." Edwards (Flying V) and John "Kong" Bunucci (bass) are joined by M.E.'s longtime friend George Janeira on drums and vocalist George Tsalikis of Zandelle fame on vocals.

The album features ten songs with epic artwork. Clocking in at 56 minutes, song topics include historical and fantasy battles as well as songs about the human condition. "Awaken the Fury" reflects the range of hard and heavy metal influences in the band. And with Kong's bass playing on "Return of the Snow Giant" having been compared to Geezer Butler, the new album further highlights Kong's truly dynamic playing. George Janeira's drumming is the perfect complement to Kong's bass. M.E. pilots his Flying V through the sonic storm with George Tsalikis' soaring vocals topping it all off.

M.E. notes: "We are beyond psyched to be working with No Remorse to release 'Awaken the Fury'. The album has indeed been a long time coming, with the initial songwriting beginning in 2007. But it has absolutely benefitted from this extended period." M.E. continued, "John, George Janeira, and I discovered metal and hard rock in the late '70s. That DNA is in our souls, and we continue to blend it with the metal style we loved in the '80s. Combined with the songwriting of George Tsalikis, we have created an album that will once again stand out."

The album artwork comes from a piece created by Italian artist Daniele Gay, who happens to be a fan of heavy metal. He was inspired by the Russian invasion of Ukraine. The Ogres and Orcs are red and blue, representing the Russian flag ("Orcs" being the Ukrainian term for the invading Russian soldiers). The Knights Templar are the blue and yellow of the Ukrainian flag. The artwork was used as part of a charity fundraising campaign for Ukrainian relief. When Overlorde approached Daniele to license the art, it quickly became apparent to both parties that many of the songs matched the situation in Ukraine. Multiple songs about an outnumbered defender battling or defeating a superior invader, which perfectly reflects the concept of the artwork.

The album is produced by Mark "M.E." Edwards. Engineered and mixed by Mark "M.E." Edwards at Das Bunker Studio with assistance from Kaiaga Benu. Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music, Cornwall On Hudson, NY.

1. Awaken the Fury
2. Fire in the Sky
3. The Madness Within
4. Battle at Marathon
5. Destroy Us All (CD only track)
6. Gargoyles (CD only track)
7. Ashes
8. Hammer Strike
9. Paranoid Delusions
10. Migraine

George Tsalikis - Lead and Backing Vocals
Mark "M.E." Edwards - Flying V and Backing Vocals
John "Kong" Bunucci - Bass and Backing Vocals
George Janeira - Drums and Backing Vocals

Overlorde EP (1987)
Return of the Snow Giant (2004)
Awaken the Fury (2023)

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.