Canada's CATEGORY VI Streaming Title Track From New Album "Firecry" Out March 2023 via Moribund Records

The first embers sparked in the frosty Canadian Tundra of Newfoundland, Canada in 2011 when CATEGORY VI released their “Vinland” Demo. This swiftly ignited their path and their debut album “Fireborn” (2013) was unleashed in a blaze of burning Metal! Those coals were never quenched, and CATEGORY VI added fuel to the fire with their 2017 follow-up Inferno “War Is Hell”.

CATEGORY VI now in 2023, they return with a full blazing firestorm with their third album and most accomplished release to date “Firecry”. From the initial flickering flame of “Firecry to the final cinders of the absolutely combustible cover of HEART’s classic “Barracuda”, CATEGORY VI delivers true and classic 80’s heavy metal with utter perfection. “Firecry” boasts a crisp, clear, and scorching modern production that does not distract from the band’s true 80’s metal sound.

Lyrically crafted around themes of personal pride and triumph (Valkyrie, Heavy is the Crown), witchcraft persecution (Firecry), women’s strength (She Runs With Wolves) & their excellent live performances (Coven), these concepts are boldly and powerfully delivered by the soaring vocal excellence of Amanda Jackman. Bolstered and fueled by the powerful stainless steel riffs and catchy melodies of guitarist Geoff Waye, the pounding anvil bass of Keith Jackman, and the thunderous steadfast drumming of Brian Downton, CATEGORY VI brings classy and classic 1980s power – Traditional Heavy Metal into the 21st century with blazing glory.

To close out one of the best heavy metal albums of the decade, CATEGORY VI delivers an immaculate true metal, yet the radio-friendly cover of the chart-topping Heart classic “Barracuda”. With “Firecry”, CATEGORY VI unleashes a global scale climate-changing metal cyclone that just may melt the North American frozen tundra with its blazing power metal.

Single / Title track – “Firecry” 

The album “Firecry” is due out March 24th, 2023 via Moribund Records.

Album pre-order –

Track Listing:
1. Firecry – 6:10
2. Valkyrie – 6:05
3. The Vultures Never Came – 4:10
4. She Runs With Wolves – 4:12
5. Heavy is the Crown – 3:47
6. Coven – 4:52
7. The Cradle Will Fall – 4:53
8. Burning Bridges – 3:49
9. Barracuda (Heart) – 4:21
Album Length: 42:18

For more info: |

Follow Moribund Records: Facebook | Instagram

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.