September 24th 1990 Megadeth Released ‘Rust in Peace’

September 24th 1990 Megadeth Released ‘Rust in Peace’

On This Day in Metal, September 24th 1990 Megadeth released Rust in Peace.

It was the first Megadeth album to feature lead guitarist Marty Friedman and drummer Nick Menza. The songs "Hangar 18" and "Holy Wars... The Punishment Due" were released as singles.

Since its release, Rust in Peace has often been named as one of the best thrash metal records of all time, by publications such as Decibel and Kerrang!, and listed in the reference book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. The album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance at the 33rd Grammy Awards.


Side one
1."Holy Wars... The Punishment Due"6:36
2."Hangar 18"5:14
3."Take No Prisoners"3:28
4."Five Magics"5:42
Side two
5."Poison Was the Cure"  2:58
6."Lucretia" Mustaine, David Ellefson3:58
7."Tornado of Souls"Mustaine, Ellefson 5:22
8."Dawn Patrol" Ellefson1:50
9."Rust in Peace... Polaris" (5:44 on remaster) 

Great! You’ve successfully signed up.

Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.

You've successfully subscribed to This Day In Metal.

Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.

Success! Your billing info has been updated.

Your billing was not updated.